A Diet that Works (at least for me)

For years my doctor had been after me to lose weight. With an ever-expanding mid-section, I knew that I need to drops some pounds or I would never see my feet again.  I went to the gym, and upped the intensity and frequency of my workouts output wasn’t the problem; it was the intake.  I love to eat, and I love to cook. Unlike so many aspects of life, cooking has a beginning, a middle and an end. Atkins, South Beach, weighing food, counting points – nope – not going to work – I needed an approach to eating that I could maintain indefinitely, one that didn’t mean giving up butter, eggs, meat, sauces, and sweets, beer and wine.  And I found the answer in the pages of the New York Times. 

When Mark Bittman, food writer for the Times, when faced with the consequences of the All-American diet, came up with a briliant eating strategy – Vegan until 6:00 pm.  As Bittman puts it:

“My arrangement with myself is that from the time I wake up until dinner I eat only fruits, vegetables, whole grains and legumes. I don’t even eat white bread during the day. And then starting at dinner, I do. I have one meal a day when I do pretty much what I want, which is normally quite indulgent.”

I’m not as strict as Bittman is – I put milk in my coffee, and eat white bread at lunch, but six months into this new way of eating, I rely on a belt to keep my pants up.

Leave a Reply

